The Three Tenets of Successful Crowdsourcing

20 Mar

The Three Tenets of Successful Crowdsourcing

Even in my so-far small experience with crowdsourcing, I’ve noticed that many campaigns succeed or fail based on the presence or absence of three criteria. I’d like to share them today, and get some feedback on how essential my readers believe these principles to actually be.

  1. Incentive. I just got done reading a post by fellow blogger VisualBloke about the relations between human behavior and the social web, and it mentioned incentive as being influenced by tones of self-interest. Meaning, make it personally worth it for your participants. Most CS’ing campaigns have this built-in, offering participants the opportunity to contribute to something that would normally be out of their sphere of influence. Nissan’s Project 370Z is a good example of this; how many people have ever had the chance to design a mass-market automobile? Kickstarter offers a more clear-cut incentive system, with different levels of monetary contribution translating to “rewards”, extra influence, or early access to the final project. No matter how you slice it, participants need more incentive than “we need help”.
  2. Barrier to Entry. How easy or difficult is it to join your crowdsourced work force? The right answer to this question depends on the level of talent you need from the people comprising your crowd, but the bottom line is to make your barriers low enough as not to deter any sufficiently motivated individual, but high enough to ensure quality. This seems complicated; let me explain. OpenStudy.com, as a resource to all students, wants to set its barrier low for entry because everyone from elementary schoolers to graduate students and beyond needs to easily access the site. They accomplish this with simple design layout and a no-frills registration process, making it simple for any student to get involved. By contrast, the aforementioned Project 370Z demands gearheads and performance experts. Hiding the project on the performance-dedicated subsection of their Facebook page was a move that may have seemed less than prudent at first, but actually succeeds in weeding out the less-than-desirable opinions without resorting to a dedicated moderator, simply by virtue of them being absent.
  3. Compartmentalization. Present a crowd with a big problem, and you get a million less-than-helpful answers. This is the principle that rules overwhelmingly in the comments sections of political news sites. Break the problem down into manageable chunks for maximum crowd effectiveness. I hate to pick on Project 370Z again, but damn it, it’s such a good example of successful crowdsourcing. Had they presented their crowd with the simple directive of “help us build a car”, they would have gotten a hodge-podge of vastly different ideas, opinions, and (unfortunately) misinformation. Instead, they break the process down into parts, and then further into individual questions. “Help us build a car” becomes “which of the following three wheels best fits the Metalloy design?” Give people a manageable problem instead of an open-ended question, and you get more focused and relevant answers.

There are probably many more aspects of effective crowdsourcing, and even more that will guarantee failure, but I’ve noticed these three present in every successful attempt I’ve seen. Have you observed any crowdsourcing patterns worth noting?

11 Responses to “The Three Tenets of Successful Crowdsourcing”

  1. Naughty Headmistress April 26, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    I’ve gone ahead and included a link back to your web site from one of my clientele requesting it. I’ve used your internet site URL:
    https://tinywork.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/tenets/ and blog title: TW Intermission: The Three Tenets of
    Successful Crowdsourcing | Tiny Work to be sure you
    get the correct anchor text. If you woud like to see where your website link has been placed,
    please email me at: stuartwillard@yahoo.

    de. Thanks!

    • Seth Weinstein April 26, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Thanks for the link back, Stuart! Glad your client liked the article.

  2. Cornelius May 15, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 4G
    .. Anyhow, superb site!

  3. Teacher June 20, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey there! I hope you don’t mind but I decided to publish your web site: https://tinywork.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/tenets/ to my on-line directory. I used, “TW Intermission: The Three Tenets of Successful Crowdsourcing | Tiny Work” as your website title. I hope this is fine with you. In case you’d like me to change the title or remove it
    entirely, contact me at james_wilkins@gmail.com.
    Thanks a ton.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “A++, Would Poop Again” « Tiny Work - March 21, 2012

    […] good ratings. Lay’s idea is not yet a reality, though, so let’s run this through the Three Tenets and see what we can take from […]

  2. Ourcast Weather App: Three Tenet Test « Tiny Work - April 26, 2012

    […] first one I’ve seen, but it’s the first one that’s inspired me to dust off the Three Tenets. Thank goodness I’ve made simple criteria to tell me what to think in situations like […]

  3. The Thing About Spec Work « Tiny Work - May 21, 2012

    […] may be too risky for some. I myself see it as falling under the “Incentive” tenet of crowdsourcing, so let me see if I can’t justify it a […]

  4. It’s Back! Magic: The Gathering Announces You Make The Card 4 | Tiny Work - March 12, 2013

    […] I’ve previously discussed the past YMTC campaigns, so I’ll take this space to briefly reiterate why they were so popular and such a good example of a company effectively reaching out to their audience. Wizards expertly hits all three of the tenets of successful crowdsourcing: […]

  5. Haverhill Mayor: Report Potholes, Win Prizes, Improve Your Community | Tiny Work - April 30, 2013

    […] project is also three-for-three on successful crowdsourcing tenets. There is a joint incentive for those participating; they get the guaranteed improvement of their […]

  6. PucaTrade Launches IndieGoGo Campaign for New Features | Tiny Work - March 2, 2015

    […] was initially a little skeptical of the ability to trade cards of any condition. A staple of any good crowdsourcing system is its ability to compartmentalize a project into small tasks that are easily managed by an […]

  7. PucaTrade Launches IndieGoGo Campaign for New Features | Fireside Magic - March 2, 2015

    […] was initially a little skeptical of the ability to trade cards of any condition. A staple of any good crowdsourcing system is its ability to compartmentalize a project into small tasks that are easily managed by an […]

Sound Off in the Comments