Stephen Fry Helps Push Crowdsourced Campaign to Fight HIV

16 May
The Community Campaign Launch Video - YouTube

© 2012 Chelsea and Westminster Hospital

HIV and sexual health clinic 56 Dean Street is teaming up with (awesome) actor Stephen Fry to crowdsource ads designed to raise awareness of HIV. Focused around the Community Campaign Facebook page, the campaign follows the typical “contest” model of crowdsourcing. Ads will be openly accepted from all comers, and the crowd will vote to decide the winners. The best ads will be displayed across multiple media outlets, and heavily featured in prominent London gay bars.

I love campaigns like this, because they target exactly the right audience. The ads will be primarily geared towards gay men, a community already famous for their unique style of creative flair. Add that to the videographers and other content producers from all circles;  they’re more than eager to tackle hot-button issues like HIV, since a controversial or popular video provides publicity for its creators. Also, 56 Dean attaching Stephen Fry to the project opens it up to his entire fan base. Some may not be particularly passionate about HIV awareness or the gay community, but they’ll support anything backed by their idol anyway. Heck, I might not have even seen this campaign if his name didn’t catch my eye.

Essentially, we’ve got a “perfect storm” of creatives that will be chomping at the bit to produce an ad like this, and 56 Dean Street is going to receive an enormous number of submissions. And as a bonus, since this is an awareness campaign, even the process of voting for the final ad will contribute to their overall cause. This is well-done crowdsourcing, and I think 56 Dean will be very pleased with the results. Look to the Facebook page on August 13th, when the submissions will be in and voting can begin.

5 Responses to “Stephen Fry Helps Push Crowdsourced Campaign to Fight HIV”

  1. Sarah Deanfneil June 18, 2014 at 10:56 am #

    Hello let me share this testimony to the world to hear about him too this man really exit I was HIV positive over 9year I have being in medication and I try to look for cure to my problem and I go through internet doctor and I found a tradition doctor named DR. okorom I contacted him for help he give me all his laws and rule that if I get cured I should write about him and that is what am doing now, this man ask for some information about me, which I give him this man cure me from HIV what a great man thank for your help when he get the information he told me that he is about to work on it 20 to 30 minute this man email me and told me what to do for the curing which I did after all the things needed for the cure is provide the man call me in 45mins later and tell me to go for test what a great day to me I was negative thanks dr. okorom you can Dr. okorom through his email address, dr.okoromspellhome@live.com, you can also call him on +2348127147869

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Thing About Spec Work « Tiny Work - May 21, 2012

    [...] to your time and resources without the guarantee of getting paid. A good example of this is the contest model of crowdsourcing, where several hundred teams of creatives may put forward a product only to have one of them [...]

  2. Top 5 Ways to Get Paid With Crowdsourcing This Summer « Tiny Work - May 30, 2012

    [...] If you’ve really got a hand on creativity, and you’re okay with the concept of spec work and non-guaranteed pay, you can clean up with design contests. Businesses everywhere are turning to services like 99designs to crowdsource logos, marketing art, commercials, and more. If you’re an artistic prodigy, winning even one of these contests can leave you sitting pretty with several thousand dollars. Of course, even if you don’t win, they’re a great opportunity to hone your skills and meet other artists. Poptent Media is another platform that offers such contests, and I mentioned a similar campaign spearheaded by Stephen Fry in a previous post. [...]

  3. Gaming Accessory Asks Players to Help Design Next Version « Tiny Work - June 5, 2012

    [...] if they use your idea, you get the money. Pretty cut-and-dry stuff; brand have used similar models for all manner of contest-based crowdsourcing [...]

  4. Make Your Idea A Reality With Quirky « Tiny Work - July 17, 2012

    [...] far as the process goes there isn’t a lot of new ground trodden.  We’ve seen a lot of platforms conform to the go-to “submit ideas, gather votes, they become a reality” process. What [...]

Sound Off in the Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

